top of page

Mom's Best Lemonade

A few weeks back, I told you I had way too many lemons. And I figured the easiest way to use up all three thousand and seventy-two of them was to make lemonade. But I couldn't just choose any old lemonade. No, it had to be MOM'S BEST.

This recipe comes from the St. John Lutheran Church Cookbook and is credited to A. Grindeland.

 

Mom's Best Lemonade

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups boiling water

1 1/2 cups fresh-squeezed lemon juice

In a quart jar with a tight-fitting lid, add the sugar and boiling water. Shake well until sugar dissolves. Add fresh-squeezed lemon juice. Refrigerate. To make 1 glass of lemonade, pour 1/4 cup cooled syrup into 3/4 cup ice cold water or club soda. Enjoy!

 

I would be happy to report that this lemonade lives up to its name, but I'm not sure I accurately can. It's entirely possible "mom" has an even better lemonade recipe up her sleeve. Who can say for sure? But I do know that this was really good. It's hard to go wrong with fresh lemonade, but I liked the added step of making a simple syrup first, rather than throwing the sugar in cold water, as I've done before. And using sparkling water instead of regular old water - yes please! I essentially made myself some lemon soda and it was darn good. I did adjust the suggested ratio of syrup to water because I wanted a strong lemon flavor. It did not disappoint!

Final rating: 5/5 love a recipe that commands you to "enjoy!" at the end.

bottom of page