top of page

Sour Milk Pancakes


Hello! It's been a while. After a long holiday break, I'm back with a delightful pancake recipe I found in the Aal Church Cookbook (1872-1972). It's credited to Mrs. K Aamold.

 

Sour Milk Pancakes

2 eggs (yolks and white beaten separately)

2 cups sour milk*

2 cups flour, sifted

3 tbsp. sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

4 tbsp. butter, melted

1/3 tsp. salt

Mix in order given. Fold in beaten egg whites just before making. Serves 5.

*Mix 2 tablespoons of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar with a scant 2 cups of milk and let sit for 5 minutes. You could also use buttermilk instead of sour milk.

 

I chose this recipe because it highlights a substitution I use often: sour milk. I probably haven't purchased buttermilk in a decade because of it. I also really liked the technique of separating the egg yolks and whites and later folding in the beaten whites to make a fluffier pancake. It worked wonderfully! These even reheat well in the toaster oven if you make too many.

It's a scarcely acknowledged fact that pancakes are just dessert disguised as breakfast. I was forced to accept this truth at a pancake café in Kyoto while visiting Japan a few years ago. I arrived ready for some cakey breakfast foods around 9 a.m., only to find that it didn't open until after noon. I can at least be thankful that here in the good ol' US of A, we have all agreed that pancakes are breakfast. This time I went whole hog and threw on whipped cream, blueberries, pecans and maple syrup. Sugar on sugar on sugar — that's what I call a balanced breakfast.

Final rating: 5/5 so good and definitely my new standard pancake recipe!

bottom of page