top of page

Knoephla Soup


Knoephla soup is a pretty common dish in North Dakota, especially if you frequent the popular Kroll's Diner chain in Bismarck, Mandan, Minot or Fargo where you can buy it by the bucketful (really!). I don't know what else you'd expect from a place whose spokesladies command you to "Sit Down and Eat!"

I'd always assumed that the knoephla (pronounced nef-la) I'd had was a traditional German soup, but it turns out that this version is actually very specific to the North Dakotan Germans from Russia. When I learned this, it was pretty clear that I had to try and make it myself. I've seen a couple variations that include celery or carrots, but North Dakota tradition dictates that all the best foods be the same off-white color.

This recipe comes from the Luther Memorial Home 50th Anniversary Cookbook and was submitted by the 3rd Grade Class at Peter Boe Jr. Elementary. Some of the measurements in this recipe are kind of vague, so I've included the amounts that worked for me.

 

Knoephla Soup

Soup:

5-6 potatoes, diced (about 4 cups)

1 onion, diced

5 Tbsp. chicken base

2 Tbsp. parsley flakes

1/2 gallon whole milk

1 pint whipping cream

Pepper

Boil potatoes in a pot with just enough water to cover them (about 4 cups). Add onion and 2 tablespoons chicken base and parsley. Mix the knoephla dough in another bowl, cut into pieces and add to a boiling pot of water. Boil until they float, about five minutes. Strain and add to soup. Add milk and whipping cream. Simmer and add more chicken base and pepper to taste. It is best after about 2 hours on a low heat when it starts to thicken. Watch soup carefully so you don't sour milk and burn potatoes. 

Knoephla Dough:

2 cups flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1 egg

Water

Combine flour, baking powder, salt and egg. Add enough water to make a stiff dough (around 6 tbsp.) Knead until smooth.

 

I almost made the mistake of using chicken bouillon, but thankfully I took the effort to find chicken base, which I've never used before. It definitely gives the soup a depth of flavor that salt-heavy bouillon can't. It's also important to stir the soup several times while it simmers so it does not burn because honestly this soup is like 90% dairy. The dumplings turned out well, but they puff up quite a bit during boiling, so make sure to cut them accordingly.

It really is a rich, buttery soup; perfect for those long, cold winters up north. For now, I'll have to settle for cranking up the AC and dreaming of a time when the outside temp is below 90°.

Final rating: 5/5 definitely made me sit down and eat

bottom of page