top of page

Cappuccino On Ice


For at least the past ten years, black tea has been my caffeine delivery system of choice. I'd never taken to coffee and actually sort of felt like tea and coffee were mutually exclusive likes. It was like the Star Trek vs. Star Wars debate. But I've recently come to realize that my personal thoughts on Trek/Wars also apply to the coffee/tea issue: You can like both! Who knew?

Continuing my iced beverage trend, this week I chose a super simple recipe called "Cappuccino On Ice." It comes from my Luther Memorial Home 50th Anniversary cookbook and is credited to J. Ulrich.

 

Cappuccino On Ice

1 1/2 cups strong brewed coffee

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup half & half

1/2 tsp. vanilla

ice cubes

In medium bowl, combine coffee and milk. Whisk in half & half and vanilla until well blended. Pour over ice.

 

Now to the important note for any coffee snobs that may be reading. This is not technically a cappuccino. It doesn't call for espresso, nor does it have steamed milk, since that would be antithetical to a nice cold drink. Being a recent convert to the coffee camp, clearly I'm an expert now.

Besides the misnomer, I found the ratio of ingredients to be off. As you've probably guessed, I love sugar. But even I found this to be way too sweet. After adding more coffee to offset the sugar, it was actually really good. It tastes pretty much exactly like those Starbucks Frappucinos you can buy in the little glass bottles. I've made this drink a few times now, so I must like it!

Final Rating: 3.5/5 very tasty once you adjust the ratios

bottom of page