top of page

"Hip Patters"


This week I found a recipe for bars called "Hip Patters" and my interest was piqued. Surely it's meant to be "padder," as it is spelled in my Cooking With Union Hospital cookbook. I also found it in the St. John Lutheran Church Cookbook under the name "Tootsie Roll Bars" and the recipe I have from my mom is simply called "Chocolate Oatmeal Bars." I prefer the latter, since it's the most descriptive, but here's the thing: it doesn't matter what they're called. They're just very, very tasty.

This was actually my second attempt at a recipe this week. My first try was something called "Danish Puff" and it turned out very badly. Later, I realized I'd used twice the amount of butter called for. Oops! I might have to give it another shot later.

This recipe comes from my Aal Church Cookbook (1872-1972) and was submitted by Mrs. H Bjerke.

 

Hip Patters

Melt over low heat:

6 oz. chocolate chips

1 tsp. vanilla

1 can sweetened condensed milk

2 Tbsp. butter

Mix and pat 3/4 of the following mixture in bottom of a 9x13 pan:

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup melted butter

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 cup oatmeal

1 egg, beaten

1/2 tsp. soda

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1 1/4 cup flour

Pour first mixture over mixture in pan. Then drop rest of second mixture on top. Bake in 350° oven for 20 minutes.

 

As far as I'm concerned, these bars are a must for any potluck dessert spread. I guarantee they will be the first to disappear. For optimum enjoyment, I recommend having these with a large glass of cold milk.

Final Rating: 5/5 whoever invented this recipe deserves a pat on the hip

bottom of page