top of page

Orange Cookies


This week on Holy Hotdish, I've tackled one of my favorite cookies of all time - the orange cookie. I distinctly remember seeking out and grabbing this cookie at many potlucks and coffee hours.

I've made this cookie many times since I found my grandma's recipe in high school, so it was kind of strange using a new recipe for it. There are some minor differences between the two, but for the most part they are really close. One of the main things is that there is butter and zest in this frosting recipe, whereas my normal recipe is just orange juice and powdered sugar. I like to make the frosting a little thin so it melts down the sides while the cookies are still warm. The butter didn't seem to make much of a difference in my opinion, but the zest is nice addition.

This recipe comes from my Aal Church Cookbook (1872-1972) and was submitted by Mrs. O Simengaard and Mrs. H Sliper.

 

Orange Cookies

1 1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda in 1/3 cup sour milk*

3 cups flour, sifted

3/4 cup shortening

1 tsp. orange grated orange rind

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 cup walnuts, chopped

Mix in order given. Drop by teaspoon. Bake in 375° oven for 10 to 12 minutes.

Frosting:

1 tsp. butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp. orange rind

Enough orange juice to make mixture suitable for frosting

*you can use buttermilk or 1/2 cup milk mixed with 1 tbsp. lemon juice

 

"Those aren't walnuts!" you probably cried aloud to your computer or phone while meticulously comparing the recipe with the photos I've taken. Well, your nut-intuition is absolutely correct in this case. Those are, in fact, PECANS pictured. I was halfway through the recipe when I realized I didn't have walnuts on hand. I did, however, have pecans in my cupboard and substituted them. It felt appropriate anyways, since pecans are kind of a big deal in Texas.

While I mark my books with new recipes I want to try, I've come to realize that I gravitate towards desserts more than savory dishes. I've always liked baking sweets more than cooking savory food, so I apologize if you came for dinner and left with dessert.

Final rating: 5/5 do yourself a favor and make these now

bottom of page