top of page

Beef N' Noodles in Sour Cream


Finally I make good on my titular promise of hotdish. It took a while to pick out the appropriate one since my husband is not particularly a fan of hotdish in general (except the tuna kind) and I don't want the point of this blog to be me making gross sounding things that we don't actually eat (sorry, Chop Suey Casserole).

So I landed on Beef N' Noodles in Sour Cream and here we are. The recipe is close to our family's barbecue sandwich recipe, but noodlier and sour-creamier, so I figured it was pretty safe.

This recipe comes from the Aal Church Cookbook (1872-1972) and it is credited to Mrs. A Moen

 

Beef N' Noodles in Sour Cream

1 onion, chopped

1 lb. ground beef

3 cups tomato juice

1 to 2 tsp. celery salt

2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp. fat (I used butter)

3 cups noodles

2 tsp. salt

Dash of pepper

1 cup sour cream

Cook onion in hot fat until tender. Add meat, brown lightly. Place noodles, uncooked, in layer over meat. Combining remaining ingredients, except sour cream. Bring to boil and simmer over low heat for 30 minutes, or until noodles are done. Add sour cream. Place in serving dish and garnish with onion rings. Serves 6.

 

I only have two photos this time, because there are only so many ways to style a hotdish. Maybe it was a reflection of my feelings on this meal?

Firstly, the whole thing comes out very sour because there is more sour cream in it than any human being should ingest. Secondly, I made the mistake of using egg noodles and still going the full 30 minutes. They were super overcooked and it all became a bit mushy (but that's entirely my fault). I still like egg noodles for this dish so it can skirt that beef stroganoff line, I would just cook them for way less time.

As with a lot of hotdishes, this actually tastes better the second day. Unfortunately, Danny wasn't willing to give it a second chance and every mention of it elicited an audible "yuck" from him, so I ended up eating the leftovers myself for several days in a row. I did forgo the recommended onion ring garnish. Perhaps that would have made all the difference.

Final Rating: 1.5/5 might have shared leftovers with my dog, but he can't eat onions. Sorry, Arthur.

bottom of page